Vijay Hazare Trophy: J&K complete Hat-trick of Losses

It was NR Saini and HJ Rana who stabilized Haryana’s inning and took the score to 45 runs in 15 overs.

Chennai, Publish Date: Sep 24 2018 12:11AM | Updated Date: Sep 24 2018 12:11AM
Vijay Hazare Trophy:  J&K complete Hat-trick of LossesRepresentational Pic

Haryana inflicted third consecutive loss on J&K with a 3-wicket victory  in the ongoing Vijay Hazare trophy at Sri Ramachandra Medical College, Chennai on Sunday. 

Batting first, openers AO Banday and SP Khajuria put on reasonable 27-runs partnership before Banday at 19, was held leg-before-wicket by HV Patel in the 6th over of the inning. With only 6 more runs added to the total, Khajuria at individual score of 10 runs was shown way to the pavilion by seasoned leg-break bowler Amit Mishra. Top-order batsman Paras Sharma played a patient inning of 25 in 68 balls before falling to J Yadav. Thereafter, middle-order collapsed yet again with Pundir, Parvez, Fazil and Pathan scoring 1, 3, 6 and 1 run respectively. With the team struggling at 82 for 8, it was the tail-enders - Waseem Raza and Mohammad Mudhasir - who imparted some respite to the team scoring 17 and 16 runs respectively thereby ensuring triple figure on the score board.

It was another dismal batting performance as the team got bundled out for paltry 108 runs in 34.3 overs. For Haryana, seasoned leg break bowler - Amit Mishra took three wickets while as A. Chaprana, R. Tewatia and J. Yadav took two wickets each.

Chasing an easy target of 109 runs in 50 overs, Haryana lost three top-order batsmen with only 5 runs on the board, as Irfan Pathan claimed the wickets of opener HV Patel (1) and C Bishnoi (0). Mohammad Mudasir took the wicket of the other opening batsman S. Rohilla (0).  

It was NR Saini and HJ Rana who stabilized Haryana’s inning and took the score to 45 runs in 15 overs. 

Bowling change in the form of debutant Auquib Nabi paid quick dividends as the magical Auqib got both the set batsmen out and left Haryana tottering at 62 runs for the loss of six wickets. However, it was the crucial partnership between P. Chandila and J Yadav that took Haryana close to win. Haryana required only 3 runs to win before P. Chandila got out on the bowling of Waseem Raza. Remaining unbeaten on 28, J. Yadav completed the formality by hitting a six to win it for Haryana in 36.1 overs. 

H.J. Rana was highest scorer with 30 runs while as P. Chandila contributed 29 runs for Haryana.   For J&K Auquib took three wickets while as Irfan Pathan bagged 2 wickets. Mudhasir and Waseem Raza took one wicket each.

Having lost all the three matches, J&K team is yet to collect a point in the tournament. The team is scheduled to play its fourth match against Jharkhand on September 27 at M.A. Chidambaram Stadium, Chennai.



J&K: 108/10 ( Paras 25, Banday 19, Mishra 3-wkts)

Haryana: 112/7 (Rana 30, Chandila 29, Jadav 28* Auquib 3-wkts, Pathan 2-wkts)

This site uses cookies to deliver our services and to show you relevant news and ads. By using our site, you acknowledge that you have read and understand our Cookie Policy, Privacy Policy, and our Terms of Service.That's Fine